The current site has been a rural fortification. During the 18th century, the ambitious Vestienas Manor was built. The moats were transformed into picturesque ponds. The Vestienas Manor was founded on 24 June 1452 and it was called "Heinrich Tolk’s Manor Near the Fortification”. The building was reconstructed in the 20th century after the fire of 1905. The park was built in the middle of the 19th century as a romantic landscape park with a gazebo and a dog’s headstone near the lake.